Course Outline/Calendar

CSUN
Business 302
The Gateway Experience

Summer, 2017
10027
Mon/Tue/Thu 9:30am - 11:45am (Thu 7/13 - Tue 8/22, 6 weeks, Session III)
JH2206
(traditional format)

Wayne Smith, Ph.D.   [ wayne.smith@csun.edu ]

Creative Commons License
The text on this web page is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
[updated: Sunday, April 16, 2017]


"There are five managerial roles; they are to set objectives, organize, motivate and communicate, measure, and develop people."
-Peter Drucker (1909-2005)

Course Outline/Calendar (Summary)

In general, the course will cover the topics and do the activities outlined in the common BUS 302 calendar. However, the days and times for specific topics and activities will vary depending on a range of factors, including how well the class is doing in specific areas. More information will be provided in class.

You will run and bring to class, but not turn in, the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) test. You will skip the "case preferences" assignment. Exercise #1 will be done in written form, not oral form. I score the oral presentations and oral challenges as group performance rather than individual performance. I tend not to give "second chance" oral presentations. I use some time in class for overall group evaluations and for personal group discussion. As indicated on the syllabus, this class will have a few "pop quizzes" as well.

There is no final exam in this course.

Note: Materials listed as (CSUN only) are restricted to CSUN students, faculty, and staff only. To access these restricted materials, CSUN stakeholders will need to enter their full CSUN email address and their CSUN password. There is a small chance this type of authentication may not work for some smartphones or tablets; in that case, simply use a laptop or desktop computer.

Course Outline/Calendar (Detail)

The purpose of this web site is to provide information and materials for students enrolled in Wayne Smith's Business 302 course, Class #  10027, for the Summer, 2017 semester. This course meets Mon/Tue/Thu 9:30am - 11:45am (Thu 7/13 - Tue 8/22, 6 weeks, Session III) in JH2206 [ Campus MapGoogle MapsGoogle Earth ].

The following summary identifies the key terms used in the course outline.

Topic(s):
General topic(s) to be discussed
Coursepack:
Readings from the coursepack [ .html ]
HBR:
Readings from the Harvard Business Review materials
Supplemental:
Readings from the supplemental materials (or occasionally, a direct, online resource)
Due:
Assignment or report due at the immediate beginning of class
Activity:
done individually or in teams (announced and done in-class)
Lecture:
presentation and discussion led primarily by the instructor
(contingency)
Slack time embedded during the course to cover unforeseen events

The following is the detail of the course in chronological order. Students must complete the readings and assignments before the due date.

Week 1: Thu. Jul 13, 2017
Week 2: Mon. Jul 17, 2017
Week 2: Tue. Jul 18, 2017
Week 2: Thu. Jul 20, 2017
Week 3: Mon. Jul 24, 2017
Week 3: Tue. Jul 25, 2017
Week 3: Thu. Jul 27, 2017
Week 4: Mon. Jul 31, 2017
Week 4: Tue. Aug 1, 2017
Week 4: Thu. Aug 3, 2017
Week 5: Mon. Aug 7, 2017
Week 5: Tue. Aug 8, 2017
Week 5: Thu. Aug 10, 2017
Week 6: Mon. Aug 14, 2017
Week 6: Tue. Aug 15, 2017
Week 6: Thu. Aug 17, 2017
Week 7: Mon. Aug 21, 2017
Week 7: Tue. Aug 22, 2017



Valid XHTML 1.1!