Course Outline/Calendar

CSUN
Management 370
Management Skills Development

Spring, 2017
13166
Thu 7:00pm - 9:45pm (Thu 1/26 - Thu 5/18, 16 weeks)
JH2206
(traditional format)

Wayne Smith Ph.D.   [ wayne.smith@csun.edu ]

Creative Commons License
The text on this web page is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
[updated: Friday, March 17, 2017]


"There are five managerial roles; they are to set objectives, organize, motivate and communicate, measure, and develop people."
-Peter Drucker (1909-2005)

Course Outline/Calendar

The purpose of this web site is to provide information and materials for students enrolled in Wayne Smith's Management 370 course, Class #  13166, for the Spring, 2017 semester. This course meets Thu 7:00pm - 9:45pm (Thu 1/26 - Thu 5/18, 16 weeks) in JH2206 [ Campus MapGoogle MapsGoogle Earth ].

The following summary identifies the key terms used in the course outline.

Note: Materials listed as (CSUN only) are restricted to CSUN students, faculty, and staff only. To access these restricted materials, CSUN stakeholders will need to enter their full CSUN email address and their CSUN password. There is a small chance this type of authentication may not work for some smartphones or tablets; in that case, simply use a laptop or desktop computer.

Question:
A general organizing question to place this particular material in context
Topic(s):
General topic(s) to be discussed
Hammond:
Readings from the textbook
HBR:
Readings from the Harvard Business Review materials
Supplemental:
Readings from the supplemental materials (or occasionally, a direct, online resource)
Due:
Assignment or report due at the immediate beginning of class
Review:
Usually a student-led review of an assignment or report
Exercise:
done individually or in teams (announced and collected in-class)
Activity:
done individually or in teams (announced and done in-class)
Lecture:
a lecture or presentation done by the instructor
Quiz:
a relatively short test
Exam:
a relatively long test
(contingency)
Slack time embedded during the course to cover unforeseen events

The following is the detail of the course in chronological order. Students must complete the readings and assignments before the due date.

Week 1: Thu. Jan 26, 2017
Week 2: Thu. Feb 2, 2017
Week 3: Thu. Feb 9, 2017
Week 4: Thu. Feb 16, 2017
Week 5: Thu. Feb 23, 2017
Week 6: Thu. Mar 2, 2017
Week 7: Thu. Mar 9, 2017
Week 8: Thu. Mar 16, 2017
Week 9: Thu. Mar 23, 2017
Week 10: Thu. Mar 30, 2017
Week 11: Thu. Apr 6, 2017
Week 12: Thu. Apr 13, 2017
Week 13: Thu. Apr 20, 2017
Week 14: Thu. Apr 27, 2017
Week 15: Thu. May 4, 2017
Week 16: Thu. May 11, 2017
Finals Week: Thu. May 18, 2017



Valid XHTML 1.1!